OFFICIAL INTERVIEW WITH EPIK THE DAWN

 

 

 

l_01619dd907f9660dd5d9ff092afe685b

Today we got one of the hottest producers in the game and on soundclick in the building!!!One of my personal favorites you know who it is… EPIK THE DAWN!!!


First of all I know you mostly as a producer, so let’s get to know the rapper side of you as well.

Let’s start with the Bio info.

Where were you born and what was life like growing up?

I was actually born somewhere kinda of different. I was born in Huntington, West Virginia. Growing up was different my mother is white and my dad is black so i have a diverse background. I grew up half my life with my mom and half with my dad. Mom and Dad were drug addicts so it was kinda hard growing up but suppied my drive. Created a lot of hustle in me. 

Have you Always been Epik The Dawn or have there been other names you have gone by?

I was called Bass Squad Productions when i very first started. Besides that it was either my Gov. Name (Julian) or EPIK… The dawn kind of came from me trying to be different.

As A rapper where do you find you are most influeneced?

Jay-z is my biggest influence hands down all the way 100% lol. I look up to him like a father figure. everyone else is cool but Jay is def my idol. 

As an artist which artist do you feel you are most like?

I don’t think i am most like anyone. Some compare me to Drake or Kanye, I’ve had people say pharell and TI. Those are all different people. So it just lets me know that I have my own sound.

What types of sacrifices have you had to make to continue on this journey towards super stardom?

Quitting jobs spending all my money on equipment and doing all that while having a son. That is the biggest sacrafice. Besides that the rest is all second nature.

When you were growing up which artists influenced you most?

Well at a younger age LOL i listened to No Doubt, Bon Jovi, Red hot chili peppers, Seal a ot of rock because thats all my mother listened to. as i got older Jay-z kind of swept my world by storm. Outkast is also a big influence to me. Drake has realy recently gave me a lot of inspiration 

As a producer what kind of road block do you run into? As an artist?

As a producer the biggest road block is these label execs trying to get me to sound like everyone else. As an artist it’s more financial, me not having the funds to put into radio promo and internet viral campaigns. As a person i’m real headstrong and don’t take to much shit from people. So as an artist i am the same. But i think the biggest road block is the stereo typical BS that goes on right now, and everyone wants you to sound just like that.

What major artists have you worked with?

T-pain, Sophia Fresh, Stix, Sweet Rush, Reakwon, Crooked I, Chris Brown.. Thats all so far.

What major artists would you like to work with?

Drake, Jay-z, Madonna, Daft Punk, Justin TImberlake, Cold Play, Musiq Soul Child, Andre 3000, Santo Gold, M.I.A and the list goes on… lol

What do you feel you bring to the table?

Diversity at it’s best. And originality, Artistry and love in music. Thats whats lacking right now. Love inside of music.

Tell us about your label?

GMG!!!!!!!! Consists of Me and Rosevelt as of right now It will be the new motown. The revised Aftermath.

What’s the most frustrating problem you have had to deal with so far?

People asking for FREE BEATS!!!! and FREE COLLABS when there music is horrible. Very frustrating. Balancing life and music is kind of annoying as well.

Have you lost any close friends to either the industry or other conflicts?

Yeah my Ex – Management team we were real close certain things were said and done and i had to let them go. 

2-5 years from now where do you see yourself? 10 years?

5 Years i see myself Married with 3 kids. While taking over the spot that which is Timbalands. And turning this game inside out. 

10 years i will be marked as one of the greatest Artists/Producers to ever be in the music industry. 

Do you have any regrets?

None at all i am here because of every choice i made. And i love my ife.

Is there a life for you after hip hop?

Of course. Because i am not just a GENRE. I love hip hop. But i am in love with music. So as long as people pay to hear noise in harmonie there will always be a life for me.

What made you choose music over school?

LOVE!!! AND PASSION FOR IT… AND I WANT A LOT OF MONEY LOL.

How did your parents take your choice of your career path?how about the rest of your family?

My mother supports whatever i do. She always said no matter what you do whether it’s selling drugs or flipping burgers be the best. I moved out of my dads house at 16 so he had nothing to say except “It’s a pipe dream you’ll never make it because your just you” LOL.. Showed him right? lol

What projects are you currently working on?

Working on my album (COMMON PROJECTS) And my artist ROSEVELT’S album (Patent Leather 11’s) thats it.. All GMG

How many beats do you have locked away in your vault? Songs?

I have over 2000 beats. and about 60 songs. a lot of my own songs are references for other artists though. 

Any tips for other young artists?

Just do it and never listen to what anyone says if it is negative. Follow God and your gut. Love what you do and never quit. Nothing comes easy but everything comes to those who work hard.

How do you market your music?

SOUNDCLICK!!!!!!!!!…. PERIOD

Have you gotten radio play?

Yeah i have. here and there. I’ve placed tracks on Cartoon Network and MTV though.. 

Is there anything else that you would like the world to know?

Just look out for me. Because i will be a house hold name.. Watch Look Listen…

 

You Can Check Out Epik The Dawn At  www.myspace.com/epikthe1

Leave a comment